Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Public announcement at work this Friday - nervous!

Public announcement at work this Friday - nervous!

Hello-
    I have been progressing along the transition path for almost three years and, and will be officially transitioning at work shortly ( i have been FT in all other aspects of my life for a little over a year). I work in a very large public company and have been working closely with HR for the past 10 months to make my work transition happen. Their support has been incredible! Things are quickly coming to a head, as I have FFS in 16 days and will return from convalescence as my female self. This Friday I will make my first broad public disclosure to approx 50 people on a conference call. I hate the call format, but my team members are all over the country. I proceed the following with four in person site visit meetings around my region. The face 2 face meetings don't worry me so much, but the conference call really does. I am fretting over the fact that i won't be able to read faces and body expressions and thus not know how the message is being received. Have any of you had a similar experience, and, if so, how did you handle it and how did it go?

Thanks
    JG

Banned Read only
    Your nervousness is understandable. Just be strong and confident in yourself. Things will go better than you are imagining. Congratulations on this big step and enjoy.

have to say all mine was done at work with hr and myself face to face witrh people in my department and other depatments at the co. that was 18 months ago and all has gone very well. i am living as a woman 24/7 both at and away from work. many of the ladies at work have friended me and ask me out with the girls many times and have always made me feel comfortable. in my department i am only woman lol well will be soon, i hope things go as well for you jg.