Thread: CDs in the computer tech field.

CDs in the computer tech field.

Hey beautiful people! Question for those of you in the Computer tech field. Do you find it is more accepted to dress in the industry, or still pretty taboo. I am in my 2nd year of a computer science degree and have been wondering about what other people's experiences have been. Does your position allow you to telecommute and offer dressing freedom?
    Thanks!
    Hope all is well!
    - Still Choosing an "En Femme" Name

Telecommuting is not as common as you would think - a lot of the job is managing client expectations as well as working with other team members. Hard to do without occasional face to face contact. Most large companies seem to be more concerned with your skills than clothing - but I would not say they all embrace us with open arms.

It'd be nice to think that things might be improving for us in some ways, but I somehow doubt that overall change is that rapid.. so I'll say what I always say about CD and jobs...

Think very carefully about revealing your CD side to anyone, anyway in the work environment. While there might be some protection against discrimination in the workplace (depending on where in the world you are) there is absolutely zero protection against discrimination in people's minds, and particularly the minds of bigots and idiots... Sadly, a lot of them occupy positions of power in the workplace, and they can make someone's life hell and do it all without breaking any laws. I won't say it's necessarily widespread, but why risk reputation, credibility, prospects, livelihood, career, just to dress... unless you really need to, but that probably asks a different question.

I've worked from home in my dressing gown, t-shirt and shorts; I've worked from hotel rooms dressed - unless you're video conferencing it doesn't make that much difference does it?

Katey x
    "Put some lipstick on - Perfume your neck and slip your high heels on