Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What do you think would happen...

What do you think would happen...

post-err
    Last edited by Katie M; 06-23-2015 at 07:37 AM.

Gold Member Read only Rachael Leigh's Avatar
    Despite the laws and workplace diversity rules in place I would let a supervisor or peer know before but thats just me.

post-err
    Last edited by Katie M; 06-23-2015 at 07:37 AM.

And what will you for references? Burning one's bridges is never a smart move.

Jodi

post-err
    Last edited by Katie M; 06-23-2015 at 07:39 AM.

Little Mrs. Snarky! Nadine Spirit's Avatar
    It really depends on your place of employment. Only you can answer the question.

For me, I have never gone fully dressed as a woman, but I have been doing many gender non-conforming things for many years. Things like wearing various article of feminine attire, like socks or shoes or undershirts. But really nobody notices those things. Now my fingernails are noticed by just about everyone. I keep them painted 24/7 and currently they are a bright sparkly red. My ears are pierced and I also wear fem jewelry. It is pretty hard to not notice my diamond/sapphire female wedding ring. Recently I told my boss that I consider myself to be transgender.

What has this done to me at work? Not much. A few questions. A few answers. I am still quite highly respected within my profession and mentor many new employees as well as participate with advancing the directives of my employers.

But I am in a union protected profession. If they did not want me to do what I am doing, they would need to ban every employee from doing the things that I do.

It depends. You have to ask why you want to do this. Are you planning on transitioning? Then you'd probably be given a lot more leeway than if you just crossdress for fun.

I happen to be at work right now, wearing a very pretty dress. But I'm transitioning and started living full-time about 12 days ago. Plus, I own the company and can make the policy.