Thread: Crossdressing in public but purposely not passing? (No wig, maybe no makeup?)

Josy Rose

Crossdressing in public but purposely not passing? (No wig, maybe no makeup?)

I'm going out to lunch with one of my friends who knows I crossdress. (She doesn't care what people wear haha.) I don't have a wig that looks real and we will be in broad daylight. Should I just wear whatever clothes I want (cute summer dress and jean jacket), light amount of makeup, and not care what random people think? Or since I am not actually trying to pass, just skip the makeup completely to see how that goes? Should I dress more on the androgynous side for now since I'm still new to going out in public, and go slowly?

Banned Read only
    I think you should do what makes you feel comfortable. I do admire a cd who isn't scared to wear feminine clothes while not trying to pass as a woman. I think that takes great courage and is akin to facing the world head-on, knowing full well that you will be seen as a man in women's clothes.

You may find that throughout the time that you are out, your confidence will feel like a rollercoaster. For this reason, I think taking along a change of clothes with you will help should it become too much to bear. It's happened to me in the past - I've gone out without wearing make-up or wig, so was obviously seen as a "man in a dress". At certain points I felt fine. At other points I felt incredibly vulnerable. And of course, when out in public, you just never know what is round the corner.

This is beyond my imagination to go out in public. wearrin woman cloths.

I agree with jenni, a change of clothes as a back up would be a good idea.
    I still tend to use a dab or two of foundation and a discrete lip colour
    See all my photos, read many stories of my outings and my early days at
    http://rachelsauckland.blogspot.co.nz

Good advice from Jenni I think... a backup plan is always a good idea.