Thread: Drag queen shows and the modern crossdresser

Drag queen shows and the modern crossdresser

I recently finished the 4th season of RuPaul's Drag Race and a couple of months ago binge watched a season of Drag Race All Stars as well as Drag Race Untucked.

As a relative newbie to CDing, I'm still learning quite a bit about myself as well as about CDing and the subcultures within it. So drag shows and these tv shows are a curiosity to me.

Drag Race and its spinoffs are fun to watch as it follows the typical reality challenge/winner/loser format. It does a fair job of highlighting the participants and developing the characters but the most obvious aspect is there are men impersonating women.

I find it a curious culture particularly because so many of the drag queens are gay and the editing of the show makes them out be real big, self-centered jerks. There is a strong emphasis on sex and wow are they foul mouthed.

I was wondering if any of you have been to or participated in a drag show. If so, how did it impact your dressing? Have you seen any of the Drag Race episodes and what do you think of them?

For me I'm amazed at how many of the queens can transform so closely to that of the image of a woman. There makeup skills are at times amazing the way they can "sculpt" there face toward the feminine. Their female mannerisms appear effortless. I think I could learn a lot from the drag queens.
    I am not a woman nor am I a man... I am an enby. Hi, I am Wren.

I'm also interested in responses to this post. I'm curious if real life encounters differ from those TV shows making them 'real big, self-centered jerks'. Especially since the common thought is that gay men don't like or understand the idea of crossdressing, but do drag...

Yes, I've been to a drag show and had a "sister" who performed in a few in her day.

I've also taken makeup lessons from a drag queen which taught me a few tricks to use.