Thread: Basic starter clothes for FtM

Basic starter clothes for FtM

Hello everyone,
    I'm very new to transitioning and finally have the footing to start my transition. The only issue I have is clothes. I am completely lost on where to start. Sure I can go into the men's section....or boys(*cough* I'm tiny *cough) but it's honestly overwhelming. I try to ask for help but I'm curvy and always get the "but why do you want to dress like that? You have such a nice figure."
    0_o
    So that makes me feel self conscious on top of being overwhelmed at the different types of shirts, pants, jackets all of it.
    I've been thinking of what my style would be and it would definitely be the dapper,1920's to 1950s look (Think Mad Men)
    But whenever I go shopping I draw a blank and end up just buying a plain white tee and I'm sick of it!
    So what are some basic FTM clothing I can get started with?

This may sound like a bit of an odd suggestion, but Walmart has some top notch button up shirts. Look for a brand called Wrangler. You said you have a bit of a feminine figure, well these shirts make you look like a freakin straight line. Thanks to the freaky and only somewhat-functioning magic of puberty (for me at least) I've leaned out a bunch and I don't really care about what my figure looks like anymore, but in middle school, my figure was less than masculine and these shirts worked wonders for when I wanted to look especially manly and cool. I even kept my favorite one forever and now it's my favorite date shirt. I highly recommend them.

Thank you! That's something I can really afford