Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm Changing (help?)

I'm Changing (help?)

It was about this time a year ago I bought my very first dress for myself. I'd been under-dressing off and on for a lifetime of interest in my feminine side. This summer marks a year since coming out to my wife of 40 yrs. I love her more than life, and she me.

I came to this CD Forum to learn, and indeed I have. I've had time and the experiences of others (on this board) to ponder what this all means to me, my identity, my sense of self. For all the years past I suppressed "Ilene" and denied her, I finally took time to understand WHY. I'm still learning but I have also learned a lot about myself. Thanks, girls.

My wife asked me when we had The Talk if I wanted to be a woman. I dismissed the idea. No, I just wanted to wear the clothes. It was all about the clothes and a little bit about my inner girly self. In my rational mind, and in my explanation to her, I was a man and could never BE a woman. It was possible to live AS a woman and not BE a woman. I thought I just wanted to let the spirit of my inner girl roam free.

Over the last year I've read the accounts of others and heard my own inner voice, and my feelings. I've examined my behavior from my distant past, the things I did and things I thought at times in my life. Back then without perspective, those feelings and thoughts never made coherent sense.

I recalled how I often would say to myself "If I had a body like that, I would be dangerous."; or "If I had a vagina.... ". As a Guy, I thought I was just expressing a form of objectifying women. I'd say it almost without truly thinking about it or what it meant. I now interpret this as a way of actually telling myself that I wanted female genitalia, or that I wanted to BE a woman. What I was actually proclaiming was "I wish I was a woman." I just didn't realize what I was telling myself.