Thread: House guest for a month or more

House guest for a month or more

Well, next week I'll have an interesting challenge thrown my way - what to do about having an old male friend as a house guest, for over a month.

Right after I graduated from high school, I briefly served in the US Navy - primarily to get the GI Bill benefits to pay for my college education. This was back in the late 1970's, just shortly after the Vietnam war ended and the draft also ended. The Navy didn't work out very well for me, but before I got out of the service, I did make several close friends - a small handful of 'Navy Brothers' who I often brought home to visit my parents, since my parents' home (which was also my home when not on duty) was close enough to the Navy bases we were stationed at that it was possible to travel to my home for special holidays, or even just for weekends away from our duty assignments. My family virtually adopted those three guys as extended family. All of those guys have only known me as a straight male, because until my father died, I severely repressed any feminine or gay urges on my part. I've kept in touch with those guys over the years, and they have been there for me through some tough times in my life. Over 40 years have passed, and one of those guys has died, but the other two remain good friends.