Thread: Increased confidence/concentration with HRT?

Aspiring Member

Increased confidence/concentration with HRT?

I'm noticing something interesting and while it's occurrence fits time wise with when I started HRT, I can't say for sure there's a correlation or causation. I'm a sports referee. For better than 12 years now I've been refereeing from youth up through adult semi-professional leagues. I've been a good ref, among the top 50 in my state for many years. However, now that the winter break is over and spring season is underway, I've noticed that my performance has changed. I feel more confident all around when I'm refereeing. I feel like I've got a better view of the game, I'm more in tune with what the players are doing and I just feel like my concentration level is higher than it ever was before. It's really hard to put my finger on it or describe exactly the feeling that I have now that I never had before but it feels good and so far it has translated into better performance by me overall.

The only reason I bring HRT into this conversation is that I'm about a month into it. This is the first season I've refereed while on hormones and it also happens to be the first season I'm experiencing this new level of mental focus when refereeing. After 12 years of refereeing, I wouldn't expect to see such a profound change in my abilities. So while it could just be coincidence, I have to at least wonder if there isn't a connection.

Have any of you experienced a similar mental performance change in maybe your job or a hobby or something?

Not so sure that the HRT may be the cause, but it is hard to not think about it. Would have to have studies of controlled groups, with a placebo effects of HRT.

I know from my past, just the fact that one has started doing something about our dysphoria lets the real you be more confident.
    From my psychiatrist notes, he noticed a big change in my personality and confidence in myself.