Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dumb law (does this actually exist)

Aspiring Member Michelle Crossfire's Avatar

Dumb law (does this actually exist)

To all those out in California, i was doing some research and came across this law,which supposedly is on the books in Walnut, California:

"Males may not dress as a female unless a special permit is obtained from the sheriff."

Any comment from our sisters in California?
    [B][I]Call me Michelle: doll:

I'm a paralegal, not a lawyer but it sounds way unconstitutional to me.

Considering all the weird laws out there, I wouldn't be surprised.......

I found this, though ...

http://www.pbs.org/newshour/updates/...sing-laws-u-s/

Michelle, I am a lawyer and it would be a violation of the 1st amendment freedom of speech clause, due process clause of the 5th and 14th amendment and the equal protection under the 14th. There are lots of laws that are artifacts on the books that are not enforced or enforceable.
    Please call me Jamie, I always_have crossdressed, I always will, "alwayshave".

Could be the sheriff runs a dressing service and is very territorial ...!

I would not be surprised.

In 2009, an amateur wine making club wanted to hold a convention in California, only to discover that it was against the law to transport and taste
    wine in a competition format.

Arnie, when approached with this information caused a bill to be presented in the State Senate to correct this.

Strangely, this law did not affect beer tasting competitions.
    Inside every good man, there is a good woman.

It is the law as Michelle states in Walnut

http://qcode.us/codes/walnut/view.ph...c=iii-17-17_31

Rejoice! According to the article, we were crossdressing back in the 1800's. Mmmm... Petticoats and Corsets!!!
    Lace and Smiles
    Lisa

Banned Spammer
    Between here and there but mostly here close to the donuts.
    There is a law in Ky that says its illegal to run with an ice cream cone in your pocket.
    Thats pretty silly.