Thread: transdermal patch questions

transdermal patch questions

I officially started hrt using the informed consent module ,as I am in my 60's research has shown me that patches were the safest mode of delivery, with that being said which is the best location outside of what is written on the box that has worked for everyone? any thoughts here would be helpful
    thanks phylis

After my first two months of HRT with oral estrogen, my endocrinologist changed me to trans-dermal patches twice a week. I have been using them for six months, and have experimented with different locations. The thigh just does not work for me, even though this is the recommended area in the instructions. I do regular bicycle workouts and they seem to move too much and start to form air bubbles or peeling at the edges. So I have found that the best area for me is on my stomach, below the waste and close to the groin. I have to tell you that I am hairless, so it works for me down there. I also want to add that I am amazed and pleased beyond expectations in the changes that have occurred in my body and emotions!

Patients did quite well with them in the left or right lower quadrants of the abdomen. The amount of fur present will impair absorption, however.

First, why wouldn't you want to follow the instructions? It seems like that would have been the way the patches were tested for efficacious use. Second, what are the instructions on your particular patches? Without knowing where they say to stick 'em, it's hard for us to say what other places might be used. My patches want to be put on the abdomen. Since I keep that part of me hairless anyway, I just clean the site with an alcohol swab and put them on there, rotating position each time so I don't use the same spot more than every fourth patch. Which is pretty much what the instructions say. And they work.
    I am not a woman; I don't want to be a woman; I don't want to be mistaken for a woman.