Thread: Big Step At Work

Big Step At Work

I'm a truck driver. Most days, I just jockey trailers around at a paper mill. On my days off, however, I volunteer to take a load to Chicago, just for the extra money. Today was one of those days.

Normally, my work "uniform" consists of a t-shirt, shorts and work boots. Today, I opted to forego the shorts and just wear a skirt the whole day, along with a cute pair of jacket earrings. I decided that I'm tired of worrying what other people think or say about my fashion choices. I was delivering at a customer I'd never been to before, then picking up a load coming back to my area (a "backhaul" as it's known in the industry), also at a place I'd never been. The chance of being noticed by anyone I actually know was minimal for most of the day.

I was expecting some sort of comment from dock personnel or other drivers, but the only comment I got was from the security guard at the first delivery. He liked my earrings.

To make a long story short, I spent the entire day wearing a skirt. I walked in plain sight, opened and closed trailer doors, and did everything I would normally do. As with my previous movie adventure, nothing happened. Even at our yard, where I'm 100% other drivers saw and noticed, crickets.

I was so proud of myself that I stopped at Goodwill (yup, still in my skirt) on my way home and bought 5 more skirts. I think I need a 12-step program to break my shopping-for-girly-stuff addiction.

This all comes on the heels of my sister and her ex-husband seeing me in MIAD mode for the first time ever last Friday, and the ex-husband coming over to hang out for about 8 hours yesterday, offering to go shopping with me and even trying on a pair of heels I bought this week.

Needless to say, I'm riding pretty high at this point, and I wanted to share my elation with you all.
    It's spelled Marika, but it's pronounced Janey!
    Appreciate the beauty in the current moment, because the past is gone and tomorrow never comes.