Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: You know that day is coming

You know that day is coming

I'm a newbie to going public. The first time I came out was a bath by fire. I went to a trans support group party at very public motel bar. The girls in the group were the best. The fire, was they had changed the party from the motel the wife and I were staying at to another motel bar mainly for more room. So my first outing was driving from there to the party in heavy city traffic. Then coming in through a very crowded lobby to the bar! OK all when well. But I'm not what you consider real passable at six foot two. Clocked, clocked I was flagged. LOL. I got a lot of great big smiles from the guys in the lobby. But I know that day is coming in getting called out. Any advice on that? Hugs Rochal

Rochal,

Firstly congratulations on your first outing.

What you say is true, one day you will be called out. Thing is in all the time I've spent out and about it's only happened once and that was a teenaged girl who blurted out, "Oh my god, that's a man", more out of surprise than malice while I was being served in a cafe.

To me it sounds like you think it's imminent, being called out. Not necessarily so. It's quite possible you could go years before it ever happens, if at all. As often written here, pick where you go, present as well as you can, be confident, stay calm and carry on.

Aspiring Member
    Getting called out in public? Have you ever seen water flowing off a ducks back? It's like that, it just happens and you move on. Ok, to keep the duck analogy going, the legs under the water may be going nineteen to the dozen, but on the surface, all is calm and serene and the duck lives on to fight another day.