Thread: Big Ask on my Birthday

Big Ask on my Birthday

Hi all,
    I have some background to spill and advice to beg.
    My wife's American, 8 years my senior, and has multiple disabilities. I'm 48, and I'm her full-time carer. Her family's in the States. We're estranged from mine. We have no friends only one another. But we are truly besties. We have to be, we're together 24/7.

She knows I dress (it's unavoidable in our circumstances) and she's ok-ish to a point, but wishes it didn't exist and fears any further progression (I've never been out en femme. In fact I've only been full femme once in the 18 months since I started). I'd like more.

Becoming Abbie's been good for me. It helped me quit drinking. I've lost weight. I'm happier. More chilled (which would get me lingerie on prescription if my doc knew, just for the benefits to my outrageous blood pressure).

So I just summoned up the courage and joined a local LGBT non-scene social group on Meetup. Next get together's on the 16th April. I'd like to go. It would be a departure for me to do something alone. I have some qualms about that. I'd go in drab at least initially, then maybe a little hybrid, followed by once a few months renting a room for a quick change before the do and before returning home. That would be the DADT route. She'd have to know where I was, with whom, times etc. I'm fine with that, but she'd expect me to attend in drab. I would hate the deception but it might the lifeline I otherwise lack due to no social bonds or support network.
    OR
    Do I take her with me? Let her see the other human beings and maybe hope for a softening of her attitudes towards being with me as Abbie?
    (Today she made me take off my bangles for a hospital appointment of hers. I looked round the waiting room. No-one noticed or cared. But she did. Says it embarrasses her. OK, I get that but the compromises seem a lot one way right now. But even typing just now that makes me feel guilty at my selfishness.)