Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any construction workers here? Feminine at work?

Any construction workers here? Feminine at work?

Im a construction worker. I rarely see women on the job site, let alone a transgender or cd. I always wondered how someone would even make that happen. Not to mention how insensitive the attitudes can be. So has anyone here tried dressing on the job site and how’d that go? I don’t aspire to do this, I just wonder if anyone has.

I worked in the construction industry for a while. One would have to be out of their mind to even attempt to transition in that environment!
    "Sensitive & Understanding" isn't really one of the job requirements.
    Before you can love another, you must first like yourself

I Aim To Misbehave

Labels belong on BOXES, not PEOPLE!

Ha ha right. I heard stories of a trans electrician one time. Everyone referred to her as, “It”. So, no, not understanding at all.

Aspiring Member
    Middle of Oregon, on the West side, but my feet aren't wet!
    Hi Ginger!

A Super here. I have had women work for me when I had my own business and have them on my projects occasionally. But you're right, it is fairly rare. Never knowingly seen a transgender or outwardly crossdressed person on any job. Never even heard of one on any project in 44 years in the business. And I do agree that negative attitudes and machoism would make it extremely difficult for that person.

It wouldn't bother me if someone was to present either way as long as they could professionally do their work. A jobsite crew discussion regarding tolerance and acceptance would be had with any offender being removed from the site.