Thread: A play about CDs: Casa Valentina

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

A play about CDs: Casa Valentina

I’m guessing that many of you know about this, since it won a Tony for best play in 2014, but I’m just learning about it. Seems that Fierstein did his research and got a lot of things right - maybe not everything. What do you think? Has anyone seen this play? It will be playing in Chicago at the end of the summer. I’m definitely going to see it then. It might be showing during Pinkfest - would be really cool to go as a group. I understand it will stimulate a fair amount of conversation.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=14hCqn4eqXs
    Oh! You Pretty Things ... Come join us for:
    Paint the Town Chicago (Feb 23-26, 2023)
    More info here -> https://linktr.ee/PtT2023

Thanks for posting that, Julie! I didn't know about that play, it sounds wonderful. I watched the whole interview, and I agree that Harvey really did his research on this. He gets it that crossdressers are all different. And that many are straight. It is so cool that it's based on a true story--there was really a place called Casa Valentina. I loved the old pics.

I will definitely look for this show in the future. I love live theatre and have even done some community theatre. Have a great time at the show. If you don't mind me asking, will you go dressed? I would be very tempted to go en fem. If you'd like, would love to hear about the experience.

Quote Originally Posted by Leelou View Post
    Have a great time at the show. If you don't mind me asking, will you go dressed? I would be very tempted to go en fem. If you'd like, would love to hear about the experience.
    Most definitely I’ll be going in Julie mode and will very likely give a post report here.

Platinum Member
    Find the shoes....dang, I have always started with the skirt...
    Remember always that you not only have the right to be an individual, you have an obligation to be one.