Thread: Gender Reveal Party - Start of Unrealistic Expectations ?

Wherever there is a Sale or Macys, but mostly Baltimore MD

Gender Reveal Party - Start of Unrealistic Expectations ?

Gender Reveal Party -
    A gender reveal party is a celebration where either the guests, the expecting parents, or both find out the sex of the baby.

Is this the start of unrealistic expectations placed on children.

I understand that the party is meant to celebrate learning the sex of an unborn child. But I just cant help also think that this is the start of unrealistic expectations
    on some kids growing up. Even selecting the colors pink or blues leaves out such a rainbow of others.

I grew up with so many limitations based on what was expected from a boy versus a girl.

I absolutely hated shop in high school, and was not allowed to take art classes, Just a few years ago I picked up art and nom, im an accomplished artist.

How has gender expectations affected you ?
    What's your opinion on gender reveal parties.?

Kelly DeWinter
    Find Kelly at:
    Kelly's Blog
    Flicker
    [COLOR=#2e8b57

Banned Read only
    Well my opinion on gender reveal parties is that's for people with the gall to hold a party so everyone buys them the right gifts.

As for parental gender expectations, I think that they are the same regardless of when the parents learn the sex of their offspring.

Silver Member Majella St Gerard's Avatar
    how were you not allowed to take art?

Wherever there is a Sale or Macys, but mostly Baltimore MD
    Quote Originally Posted by Majella St Gerard View Post
    how were you not allowed to take art?
    Parents thought it was not a class that would prepare me for adulthood and my ability to provide for a family. I was put in Auto Body Shop where I learned basic auto care. Truthfully I'm so inept with cars that I'm lucky I can fill the tank with gas.
    Kelly DeWinter
    Find Kelly at:
    Kelly's Blog
    Flicker
    [COLOR=#2e8b57