Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bad Experiences in Public?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Bad Experiences in Public?

Hello ladies,

I am still new to everything and have never been out in public as Gwen. Some of you have given me encouragement through your words and experiences, and I am so grateful for that support. I have to wonder though, have any of you had bad experiences out and about while dressed? Any advice on how to avoid bad situations?

Hi Gwen

Ultimately, there is just no way of knowing how someone is going to react when they see you but that is the case for any situation. If the thought of what might happen (outside of anything to do with the covid situation) is stopping you going out, then yes, you won't have to worry about being hassled but you also might miss out on something wonderful happening too. Most people are caught up in their own little worlds to notice (or care) what someone else is doing

What is your goal?

If you are looking to get to a point that your comfortable in public now is a pretty good time. With the masks and distancing, it works to your advance.

Simply go and do something that you always do in the middle of the day. Like go pick up a few groceries. Sounds simple enough, and it is.

Basically , start small and build from there. Being safe is about being smart.

Over 20 years of going out, about 8 years ago (or 400 outings ago), 1 guy about 40 yards away got lippy. I was hoping in my car at the time so I just ignored him, and drove away.

There is a slight difference, as I'm very happy to go into self defense mode if some approaches in an aggressive manor.
    See all my photos, read many stories of my outings and my early days at
    http://rachelsauckland.blogspot.co.nz