Thread: Therapist question

Just finding my way.... StaceyJane's Avatar

Therapist question

After some time away from therapy I've started back. The gender dysphoria simply got too strong. It's been good to be able to open up again about my feelings about being a woman.
    Today my therapist asked me a simple question "what is is that stopping you from living full time as a woman?"
    I gave my standard answer about lack of guts but now I'm really thinking, " what is is that's stopping me from living full time as a woman?"
    I'm thinking alot about that.

So for now I've decided to take a bit a a step. I've travelling before as Stacey, a short train trip, even took a short flight as Stacey but now I would like to take a whole multiday trip as Stacey. Maybe ride the train from Texas to D.C. and back. It would be quite the test but I think I can do it.

Anyway I really do need to start living more as a woman. It's what makes me happy.
    Stacey

I'm not a doctor, I just play one on TV.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wob7zmvVTb8

Platinum Member
    Interesting approach - testing your comfort level by traveling. I have done that myself quite a few times, along with stretches of a couple weeks without slipping back to male mode, even when I had business meetings. The interesting thing is that the RLE in those intervals of days and weeks showed me that I could function 24/7 as a woman, but the experience did not tell my what was stopping me from going full-time. I had to look inside to find that answer, and it all boiled down to conflicting wants, conflicting needs and conflicting expectations for myself.
    Remember always that you not only have the right to be an individual, you have an obligation to be one.

Eleanor Roosevelt

Aspiring Member