Thread: Happy surprise at work

Happy surprise at work

Hello ladies!

Had a surprisingly happy moment at work today.

As for context, at the end of July, I went and had a transformation session at Janet's Closet, in Detroit, Michigan. Got make-up done professionally, got some solid constructive suggestions regarding wardrobe.

Long story short, it was a wonderful time...shared pics of me in two outfits previously.

Okay, well, being a teacher, my school year has just started up. And I know that there are specific peers of mine who are quite supportive of my "dressup skills", so I pulled up the photos and shared them. For the sake of peace in the Universe, I declared that I had attended a Drag workshop. (Simpler and safer answer, given how "white-bread" my school community can be, sometimes.) My work friends genuinely enjoyed seeing my pics...and they all know me to be a Drama-Music-Arts fella, so that kind of workshop made sense to them.

Well, today, I was able to share the pics with my principal and vice-principal. They are even more delighted.
    They even chatted witb me about some schoolwide activities that would be fun...like a Drag Race, where the males, both teachers and students, get dressed up and put on heels, then have an actual foot race....or a no GG beauty contest. However, we also acknowledged that doing so would summon torches and pitchforks from our more narrow-minded families.

This is a marvelous level of acknowledgement to receive, to be sure.
    I do feel that, as a teacher with CD'ing skills, i have something of a responsibility to offer as much support to the students at my school who are establishing their identities...beginning to present as their actual genders and so forth.

For me, ti figure that this counts as progress on my CD journey. ��

TTFN
    Jenny O.
    (borrowed from another, but it resonates with me, too)
    My desire is to create an illusion that is a compliment to all women.