Thread: Opening up to friends and colleagues

Opening up to friends and colleagues

It's a real problem sharing our desires with other people. I often think that our friends and colleagues probably suspect a lot more than they let on. I work as a civilian in a military environment and I'm sure two or three work colleagues are secret crossdressers. And I'm equally sure some colleagues suspect that I could be one too!
    I've only recently accepted my own feelings and would like to be more open about who I am. I'm just wondering to what extent you need to be comfortable about how you feel and look as a woman, before opening up to anyone? I think many of us 'girls' get a bad reaction from friends and family because when we are first trying out our female 'look', it's a bit like a little girl trying on her mummy's clothes, make-up, and heels for the first time. Unfortunately for us, a little girl simply looks cute in the public eye ... a mature man just looks embarassing! Many years ago, I had to spend a week at a big electronics fair in Geneva. (The Italia Telecom women were absolutely gorgeous ... short skirts and long legs clad in slinky sheer black nylon. Boy ... was I envious! But that's another story!) I will always remember on the Sunday, when the fair was open to the general public, two crossdressers appeared on the scene. They were dressed in amazing cat-walk frocks and sexy high heels. They were obviously men, but because they were dressed so well, I didn't see anyone laughing or smirking behind their backs. Everybody was just amazed at their self-confidence and their look.
    I'm not saying we 'girls' need to look like cat-walk models to be accepted. But I'm just wondering to what extent the reaction we get is a function of how acceptable our look is in the public eye and how comfortable we are personally with that look?
    Luv Chrissie
    x