Thread: Out to a friend who didn't freak out

Smile Out to a friend who didn't freak out

I’ve been dwelling on the advice of many of you for a number of weeks. Yesterday, I decided I needed to muster some fortitude and do something to test the metal of my courage.

I was out doing some errands and decided to call a college friend that I still keep in close contact with. We talked for awhile and then I told her I wanted to share something with her that I had not openly shared with anyone else. I told her I was a CD.

She was very supportive and encouraging. We talked, and talked. We talked about what I get out of dressing, how it fits with my spiritual life, what type of clothes I like, where I dress, and how often. She wanted to know how many years I have been dressing – if this was something new or something that resurfaced. When I told her I have been doing this for more than forty years, she instantly knew it has been a part of me nearly all my life and really didn’t change the person she knew – it simply was a part of who I was. We talked for more than two hours and a second call later for nearly 45 minutes. I sent her a couple links to my profiles. I’m sure her husband was curious why she was on the phone for so long.

She offered to help me with some pointers for makeup including help learn to put it on. She offered some sources and tips for reasonably priced clothes and fashions. She even offered to go out after a makeover with me including to shop – en-femme. It meant a lot to me for her to offer that.

After viewing my neanderthal photos, she sent me an email with about twenty links to clothing suggestions and even made a suggestion for jewelry.